Today's Paper Obits Sports Coronavirus Latest News Newsletters Viewpoints Lifestyles Dear Abby Horoscopes Readers Choice Contests

Nominations for 2022 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Now Open

by Bradly Gill | October 5, 2021 at 5:00 a.m.

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Sec. Stacy Hurst announced the opening of nominations for the 2022 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame, a program of Arkansas Heritage. Now in its sixth year, the program celebrates Arkansas's unique culinary heritage.

"Food is a compelling piece of the story of Arkansas. Last year we had more than 2,000 nominations representing all 75 counties," said Hurst. "This is a chance for people to let their voice be heard and to celebrate the food, places, events and people that make our state unique."

Nominations are open at now to Oct. 31, 2021, with categories that recognize legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events that celebrate food heritage from every part of our state including:

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame, recognizes long-standing restaurants that have become legendary

Proprietor of the Year, honors a chef, cook and/or restaurant owner with significant impact on the food industry

Food-Themed Event, honors a community food-themed event or festival

Gone But Not Forgotten, remembers past establishments

People's Choice, restaurants or food trucks, new or old, are eligible

"Whether you make the food or eat it, the flavors of Arkansas are unparalleled," said Jimmy Bryant, director of Arkansas Heritage. "We encourage you to honor your favorites and nominate them this month."

Winners will be chosen by a special committee of Arkansans who are historians, chefs, foodies and food authors. Committee members include Paul S. Austin, Chip Culpepper, Quantia "Key" Fletcher, Cindy Grisham, Montine McNulty, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Stephanie Wade, David Ware, Stanley Young, in addition to Hurst and Bryant. Honorees and finalists will be announced in a special ceremony in 2022.

For more information about this program, please contact Deputy Chief of Communications Mandy Shoptaw at [email protected] or 501-324-9788.

Print Headline: Nominations for 2022 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Now Open


Sponsor Content