Woods Place owner nominated as Proprietor of the Year by Arkansas Food Hall of Fame

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (Jan. 30, 2023) -- Finalists have been announced for the 2023 class of the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame. Arkansas Heritage launched the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame program in 2016 to recognize Arkansas's legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events across the state.

More than 1,800 submissions were received from all 75 Arkansas counties for the seventh class of the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame. Arkansans nominated their favorites during the month of October in these five categories:

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame

Proprietor of the Year

Food-Themed Event

People's Choice

Gone But Not Forgotten

Finalists include:

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame

Betty's Old Fashion of El Dorado (Union County)

Big Banjo Pizza of Pine Bluff (Jefferson County)

Black Angus of Little Rock (Pulaski County)

Bulldog Restaurant of Bald Knob (White County)

Daisy Queen of Marshall (Searcy County)

DeVito's Restaurant of Harrison (Boone County)

Hugo's of Fayetteville (Washington County)

Kream Kastle of Blytheville (Mississippi County)

Meacham's Family Restaurant of Ash Flat (Sharp County)

Ozark Cafe of Jasper (Newton County)

Skyline Cafe of Mena (Polk County)

The Ohio Club of Hot Springs (Garland County)

Proprietor of the Year

Chuck Taylor, Taylor's Steakhouse of Dumas (Desha County)

Chester and Laura Huntsman, Beech Street Bistro of Crossett (Ashley County)

David Stobaugh, Stoby's Restaurant of Conway (Faulkner County)

James Woods, Woods Place of Camden (Ouachita County)

Jamie McAfee, Pine Bluff Country Club of Pine Bluff (Jefferson County)

Jim Keet, JTJ Restaurants of Little Rock (Pulaski County)

Food-Themed Events

Slovak Oyster Supper (Prairie County)

Magnolia Blossom Festival and World Championship Steak Cook-Off (Columbia County)

Mayhaw Festival (Union County)

Gone But Not Forgotten

4-Dice Restaurant (Dallas County)

Bohemia Restaurant (Garland County)

Chip's Barbeque (Pulaski County)

Sir Loin's Inn (Pulaski County)

All nominees and finalists are listed at ArkFoodHOF.com.

"Arkansans are proud of their food flavors and traditions," said Mike Mills, secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. We know residents across the state will join us as we celebrate these restaurants, events and food people as finalists for this special program."

Winners will be selected by the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Committee and then announced at a hybrid ceremony at Central Arkansas Library System's Ron Robinson Theater on March 6, 2023. The venue is located at 100 River Market Ave. in downtown Little Rock.

The public is invited to attend the reception and induction ceremony virtually or in-person. Tickets are $20 and can be purchased at ArkFoodHOF.com.

Also at that time, the People's Choice Award, which is awarded based on the number of nominations received, will be announced.

The Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Committee is a group of Arkansans who are historians, chefs, foodies and food authors. Committee members include Paul S. Austin, Jimmy Bryant, Chip Culpepper, Quantia "Key" Fletcher, Cindy Grisham, Montine McNulty, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Stephanie Wade, David Ware and Stanley Young, in addition to Mills.

For more information about this program, contact Rene Lovett at [email protected] or call 501-324-9788.

Arkansas Heritage

Arkansas Heritage was created in 1975. There are eight agencies with unique heritage focuses under the umbrella of this division: Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. Jimmy Bryant serves as director of the division.

Upcoming Events